Program

LeadDev Together is a five-part course over 10 weeks, featuring talks, crafted exercises, and dedicated group discussion time. Each session focuses on a fundamental aspect of engineering leadership, with an agenda curated in collaboration with a subject specialist co-host.

5 sessions • 12.5 hours • 10 weeks

Experience all of the last sessions

Get full access to all videos from the last series in 2021. Enjoy talks and panels on coaching, difficult conversations, career vectors, and more.

Session details

Course host

Hosted by 

Anjuan Simmons

Engineering Coach, 

Help Scout

Anjuan Simmons is a technologist with a successful track record of delivering technology solutions from the user interface to the database. He is an energetic and informative speaker who presents at conferences, seminars, schools, and community centers around the world on topics including Agile software development, diversity, and leadership. Anjuan has an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and an MBA from Texas A&M University.

Onboarding and retention

Setting up new talent for success and growth opportunities

Full session details coming soon

October 19, 18:00 - 20:30 BST
10am–12.30pm PT / 1–3.30pm ET / 6–8.30pm BST / 7–9.30pm CEST

October 20, 14:00 - 16:30 BST
6–8.30am PT / 9–11.30am ET / 2–4.30pm BST / 3–5.30pm CEST

You’ve got an awesome team filled with talented engineers, but how are you going to ensure that they’re happy and want to stick around?  

Retention starts from day one; with a sound onboarding process that sets your engineers up for success, and develops into you providing them with an environment that facilitates learning and self-growth. 

So how do you make sure you are providing a safe, engaging, environment for your engineers? 

You’ll leave this session with:

Tips on how to build an effective onboarding process

Frameworks to set up your engineers for success on day one

Strategies to get  your new engineers up to speed quickly

Best practices for fostering an environment of self-growth

Hosted by 

Neha Batra

Director of Engineering • GitHub

Neha Batra is a Director of Engineering at GitHub, where she leads the Communities Department that focuses on tools for open source communities like Discussions, Sponsors, and Interaction Limits. 

Her passion lies in making the tech industry easier and more inclusive to work in, which is why she focuses her talks and blogs on action-oriented tips and tricks, like Facilitation 202, Microallyship, and Managing your Mentorship. She holds a bachelor’s in Mechanical Engineering from MIT and enjoys foodie adventures, planning trips, and collecting national park magnets. 

If you want to hear her ramble on a topic, ask her about pair programming, her adventures as a manager or consultant, or how much she misses Miami and its cafecitos.

medium.com/@nerdneha

Building team culture

Understanding, creating and sustaining team culture 

Full session details coming soon

November 2, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PT / 1–3.30pm ET / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CEST

November 3, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PT / 9–11.30am ET / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CEST

Culture determines how we treat people, how we respond to problems, and how we approach our work. And culture isn’t static, but something that changes with every new person that joins a team, and every new policy created. 

As such, culture must continually be nurtured, regardless of the size or maturity of your team.  

As an engineering leader, how do you define culture, how do you set up norms, and how do you articulate it? 

You’ll leave this session with:

An understanding of the importance of team culture and how to articulate it

The tools to identify your culture type and create policy 

The ability to communicate your culture effectively to teammates

Hosted by 

Kathryn Koehler

Engineering Director • Netflix 

Kathryn Koehler is an Engineering Director within Netflix’s Productivity Engineering organization.

Her teams focus on the development environment and associated experiences which enable and empower developers at Netflix to bootstrap, code, build, test, debug and maintain software more effectively and efficiently.

Prior to Netflix, she oversaw engineering for the Science Initiative at Chan Zuckerberg, where her teams built tools and platforms for biomedical researchers with the goal of accelerating scientific discovery.

Kathryn also serves as a mentor and coach to underrepresented people within the tech industry. When not working, she enjoys biking, running, soccer (pre-COVID), and embarrassing her two teenage children.

Progression, salary, promotions

Laying the foundation of transparency and fairness

Full session details coming soon

November 16, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PT / 1–3.30pm ET / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CEST

November 17, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PT / 9–11.30am ET / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CEST

The engineers on your team want to advance their careers, and one of the key ways they will do this is through promotion. And while most companies have clear pathways for engineers to travel, the details of assessing when engineers should be promoted can often feel more up to an individual's discretion. 

So how do you assess the individuals in your team fairly, creating openness and transparency in an area that can feel difficult to approach, for both of you?

You’ll leave this session with: 

Tools to create a thoughtful, equitable promotion process

Best practices to improve the quality of your promotion decisions  

How to lead effective career conversations with your engineers

Guidelines to design a growth framework that align incentives

Hosted by 

Yenny Cheung

Engineering Manager • Rasa

Originally from Hong Kong, Yenny is an engineering manager at Rasa, where she is learning how to make Open Source Conversation AI accessible to all.

She cares about building an inclusive environment for teams and communities with a "People first" approach. She enjoys the thrill of public speaking and meeting like-minded people along the way.

You can find her on Twitter and at conferences on leadership and Python.

Empower teams through effective planning and prioritization 

Full session details coming soon

November 30, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PT / 1–3.30pm ET / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CEST

December 1, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PT / 9–11.30am ET / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CEST

To provide a stable environment for your team, you need to manage constant changes to short- and long-term plans. 

Rapidly incoming unplanned work can easily leave your team feeling stuck or frustrated and can leave you struggling to align your team around a shared vision. 

In this session we are going to focus on concrete practices you can use to plan and prioritize your team’s work without losing its purpose, creating an environment of autonomy and trust. 

You’ll leave this session with: 

Methods for planning and adjusting work to keep teams aligned 

Tactics for effective communication to smoothly absorb rapid change

Strategies to stay aligned when plans change

Hosted by 

Sarah Milstein

VP of Engineering • ConvertKit

Sarah Milstein is VP of Engineering at ConvertKit. She previously held executive roles at Mailchimp, 18F.gov, and indie.vc. She was also CEO and co-founder of Lean Startup Productions and co-author of The Twitter Book. 

Earlier, she was a freelance journalist writing regularly for The New York Times. She holds an MBA from UC Berkeley. 

Bonus fact: She was the 21st user of Twitter.

Measuring success

Outlining the fundamentals of engineering metrics 

Full session details coming soon

December 14, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PT / 1–3.30pm ET / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CEST

December 15, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PT / 9–11.30am ET / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CEST

Identifying whether your team is moving in the right direction is harder to do than it sounds. As an engineering leader, you can instrument several metrics to help you ensure that you’re on the right path, but metrics aren’t necessarily very practical, even worse they can be misleading. 

There are many ways to judge your team's success, so how do you know which metrics are tailored to your outcomes? How do you contextualize these metrics and most importantly, how do you make sure that your team is not afraid of them?

You’ll leave this session with: 

An understanding of the fundamentals of engineering metrics

Guidelines for teams to use engineering metrics

Learn how to implement these metrics and derive value

Tactics to avoid pitfalls and overcome challenges when using these metrics 

Hosted by 

Juan Pablo Buriticá

Engineering leader

Juan Pablo Buriticá is a software engineering leader who has built and led distributed teams at companies like Stripe and Splice He is originally from Bogotá, Colombia and lives in New York City. After a decade of building distributed engineering teams, he compiled his experience in The Holloway Guide to Remote Work.  

Juan Pablo has built high-performing software engineering organizations by emphasizing Open Source software values, technical excellence, trust, and empathy. He has also organized more than 10 software engineering conferences in the US & Latin America, founded multiple JavaScript meetups, and led the creation and growth of Colombia’s JavaScript community, now one of the largest Spanish-speaking JS communities in the world.  

His favorite food group is empanadas.

Thank you to our partners

LinearB
Epsagon
GitLab

Looking to connect with a global audience of senior engineering leaders? 

We offer various partnerships at LeadDev which help you do just that! 

Find out more.

© 2021 LeadDev | Data promise 

Built with