2022 Program

LeadDev Together is a six-part course over 9 weeks, featuring talks, crafted exercises, and dedicated group discussion time. Each session focuses on a fundamental aspect of engineering leadership, with an agenda curated in collaboration with a subject specialist co-host.

2022 Program

LeadDev Together is a six-part course over 10 weeks, featuring talks, crafted exercises, and dedicated group discussion time. Each session focuses on a fundamental aspect of engineering leadership, with an agenda curated in collaboration with a subject specialist co-host.

Register for the latest updates

We have a fantastic new lineup of hosts and speakers for LeadDev Together 2022 starting on January 31 and running every 2 weeks until March 30. 

Register to be the first to know about course updates

Session details

Course host

Hosted by 

Anjuan Simmons

Engineering Coach, 

Help Scout

Anjuan Simmons is a technologist with a successful track record of delivering technology solutions from the user interface to the database. He is an energetic and informative speaker who presents at conferences, seminars, schools, and community centers around the world on topics including Agile software development, diversity, and leadership. Anjuan has an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and an MBA from Texas A&M University.

Course induction

Welcome to LeadDev Together

January 31

10–10.30am PST 1–1.30pm EST / 6–6.30pm GMT / 7–7.30pm CET

LeadDev Together is designed for you to attend with your team. The course is unique because it is structured around group discussion. This induction session will give you a better understanding of what to expect.

You’ll leave this session with:

An understanding of the course structure and session flow

Clear expectations of the team learning experience 

Tips on tools you can use to support your group learning 

Growing teams sustainably

Empowering your team in times of growth 

Full session details

February 1, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PST / 1–3.30pm EST / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CET

February 2, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PST / 9–11.30am EST / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CET

So you’re scaling your team? Congratulations! But while scaling can be an exciting time, it can also bring a lot of chaos. And without clear objectives and a strategy for achieving them, you run the risk of creating uncertainty, increasing ineffective communication and decreasing productivity. This session will help you navigate your team through this transition and take the necessary action to get qualified and experienced engineers on your team. 

You’ll leave this session with:

Strategies to build an efficient hiring pipeline

Proven techniques to up-skill in-house engineers through coaching and mentoring

Frameworks to structure and formalize roles and career ladders

Learn how to sustain your company culture 

Tips on how to communicate goals and needs to the team

Hosted by 

Christian McCarrick

Engineering Leader, Speaker, Podcast Host • Facebook

Christian McCarrick is currently an Engineering Leader at Facebook supporting Facebook Messenger. He has previously been the VP of engineering at many startups including most recently at Auth0. He is dedicated to improving the craft of software engineering leadership. He volunteers his time to mentor through the Everwise and Plato networks and teaches engineering workshops for new engineering managers. He also hosts a popular podcast called SimpleLeadership where he interviews top technology leaders in order to help other managers grow and be successful.

Christian excels at scaling technology teams and software from prototype through hyper-growth curves enabling successful acquisitions.

Articulating strategy

Effectively communicating goals and needs to your team

Full session details

February 15, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PST / 1–3.30pm EST / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CET

February 16, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PST / 9–11.30am EST / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CET

Being a communicator is one of the most crucial aspects of your role. As an engineering leader, you are expected to translate the strategy set by senior leadership to your team. This is vital to ensuring that your team is focused on shared goals and pointing in the right direction. But articulating your strategy can be difficult, especially when there’s uncertainty raining from above.  

In this session, we’ll explore how to effectively communicate strategy to your team to ensure everyone is on the same page.

You’ll leave this session with:

An understanding of building alignment on vision, goals, and tasks

Strategies for articulating strategy

The tools to share information in a sustainable way

Tips for standardising communication and creating comms strategies

Strategies to help you deal with rapid change from above

Hosted by 

Sarah Wells

Technical Director • Financial Times 

Sarah Wells is a Technical Director at the Financial Times. She has been leading delivery teams across consultancy, financial services, and media for 20 years. Building the FT's content and metadata publishing platform using a microservices-based architecture led her to develop a deep interest in operability, observability, and DevOps, and at the beginning of 2018 she took over responsibility for Operations and Reliability at the Financial Times. 

More recently, Sarah moved to take over Engineering Enablement, adding platform and security engineering into the mix. She now leads a group of teams at the FT who build tools and services for other engineers.

@sarahjwells

Collaborating cross functionally

Laying the ground for successful cross-team collaboration

Full session details

March 1, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PST / 1–3.30pm EST / 6–8.30pm GMT / 7–9.30pm CET

March 2, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PST / 9–11.30am EST / 2–4.30pm GMT / 3–5.30pm CET

To deliver awesome products, engineers in your team must work very closely with other functions of your company. Collaboration can spark innovation, and little communication will lead to frustrated teams and missed dependencies. But how do you get teams working together, even when they don’t have the exact same purpose and mission?  

As an engineering leader, your role is to navigate these dependencies to build alignment across multiple teams.  

In this session, we will look into concrete tools you can use to improve and scale collaboration, communication, and leadership while driving complex projects.  

You’ll leave this session with: 

Hosted by 

Maria Gutierrez

VP of Engineering • Twitter

Maria Gutierrez is VP of Engineering Strategy and Operations at Twitter. In this role, she drives operational excellence in Twitter’s growing engineering org. Previously she was site lead for Intercom London and led their R&D Operations function with a focus on building a healthier and effective Product and Engineering organisation at scale. 

The ability to identify and manage your stakeholders

Practical advice to set up cross-team visibility

Real-life strategies for working with product, design, sales, etc

Strategies to effectively partner with other functions of the business

Tips for effective communication when things are not going as planned 

Becoming an effective advocate for your team

Full session details

Please note that due to daylight saving time in the USA, session 4 is 1 hour earlier than usual for European audiences.

March 15, 18:00 - 20:30 GMT
10am–12.30pm PDT / 1–3.30pm EDT / 5–7.30pm GMT / 6–8.30pm CET

March 16, 14:00 - 16:30 GMT
6–8.30am PDT / 9–11.30pm EDT / 1–3.30pm GMT / 2–4.30pm CET

Managing up is often seen as something done just by individuals. But as an engineering leader, you are the face of your teams work, and it is your responsibility to manage up and make sure it's visible at the organisational level. And you can't assume that your manager has the visibility into your team or your team's work, and to shape the direction, you need to be able to shift their point of view.  

Mastering the skill of managing up and influencing can be challenging to navigate. In this session, we'll help you work out how to get the message out.  

You’ll leave this session with: 

Hosted by 

David Yee

Executive Director of Engineering  • The New York Times

David Yee is Executive Director of Engineering at the New York Times. As an engineering leader, he’s built and scaled teams at both small and enormous companies in the worlds of journalism, music, and art—with an emphasis on product-oriented engineering and humane management.  

His career has included roles as Chief Architect and co-founder at 20x200, co-founder and CTO at Editorially, and Engineering Director of Chorus at Vox Media

Guidelines about what not to do when managing up and influencing 

Tools to understand and adapt to your manager’s personality/communication style, values and core needs.

Practical strategies to increase your impact with your own projects and  team’s visibility 

Knowledge around how to manage when you’re being managed up 

Addressing underperformance

Dealing with underperformance with integrity, dignity and fairness

Full session details

March 29, 18:00 - 20:30 BST
10am–12.30pm PDT / 1–3.30pm EDT / 6–8.30pm BST / 7–9.30pm CEST

March 30, 14:00 - 16:30 BST
6–8.30am PDT / 9–11.30am EDT / 2–4.30pm BST / 3–5.30pm CEST

There will come a time when every engineering leader will be faced with engineers who are underperforming in their roles. And this is always tough for the person underperforming but also for you as a manager. Underperformance, if not addressed correctly, can have tangible consequences both for an individual and your team. So how do you tackle these situations with integrity and ensure that you’re doing all that you can to help people succeed?  

In this session, we’ll help you set out a plan of action to manage underperformance effectively, taking a look at how to set expectations, manage performance, and deal with any aftershocks.

You’ll leave this session with: 

Hosted by 

Arquay Harris

VP of Engineering • Webflow

Arquay is the VP of Engineering at Webflow. Prior to Webflow, she held Engineering leadership positions at Slack, Google, and CBS Interactive. A developer who also has a Masters in Design, Arquay loves the marriage of form and function. 

When not working she can be found cooking, stumbling over guitar and piano chords, or watching Seinfeld.

Frameworks to help you define performance and to set realistic goals 

Tools for being able to manage underperformers 

Communication methods to treat the person with dignity 

The ability to make hard choices confidently 

Strategies for creating communication plans

Looking to connect with a global audience of senior engineering leaders? 

We offer various partnerships at LeadDev which help you do just that! 

Find out more.

© 2021 LeadDev | Data promise 

Built with